Knowledge Vault: Hand of Justice (and the giveaway continues!)

In this week’s Knowledge Vault, we’re going to take a quick look at Hand of Justice.  Now, you may be asking yourself, what’s so great about a six cmc 2/6?  Even terrible cards like Abomination and frickin’ Moss Monster are more economical than that.  The answer is: flavor.

As a side note, I apologize that this post is a quickie.  I am writing this via mobile while travelling.

1979_large

During a game of Old School 93/94 Brawl, in addition to a sweet ‘stache and what looks to be one of those dentist spitoons, Hand of Justice provides you with the unique opportunity to roleplay as justice incarnate.  You decide who lives and who dies.

Gladiator_Thumb_Down_01.gif

In Old School MTG 93/94, there are very few point-and-click, conditionless sources of removal.  As I write this, none other than Swords to Plowshares, Oubliette, and Tawnos’s Coffin come to mind.

Okay, so, it’s goofy and halfway decent.  But how do I use the damn thing?  Well, you can curve into it with T1 Savannah Lions, T2 White Knight, etc. or you can generate some White creature tokens.

1999_large

Icatian Town is not great, but it will do the trick as a two-card, recurring kill spell combo.

 

1656_large

However, my personal favorite use of Hand of Justice is alongside Commander Hazezon Tamar.  The color identity lines up, Hazezon is actually good, and using Hazezon as a Commander guarantees that you draw at least one half of the combo every game.  Don’t forget that, despite summoning sickness, you can still tap the tokens to activate the Hand!

 

WRAP UP

Thanks for reading and please consider joining our Discord to continue the discussion!  We also urge you to follow us on Twitter, YouTube, Instagram, and Patreon so that you don’t miss anything.  At the very least, please take a moment to subscribe to our Twitch channel with your Amazon/Twitch Prime account and/or rate us 5 stars on Facebook.  Those are two great ways to support our blog and they cost you absolutely nothing!

As always, you should follow every Old School MTG resource that you can, such as the fine people over at Wak-Wak, Eternal Central, Magnus de Laval’s Blogspot, DFB’s WordPress, and the Beasts of the Bay Area.  Finally, there are also tons of people who are always down to jam a game of 93/94 over webcam in the OLDSCHOOL 93-94 ONLINE TOURNAMENTS Facebook group!

 

GIVEAWAY

As a treat to our followers who read this far, we are pleased to announce another giveaway!

 

COUPON CODES

  • FlipSide Gaming.  Enter the coupon code READYTOROLE at checkout for 10% off any order of $10 or more.  Alternatively, enter READY40K for FREE SHIPPING on any order of $10 or more in Games Workshop products!
  • Surly Good Designs.  Use coupon code READYTOROLE for 10% off.
  • Kirby’s MTG AltersMention our name to receive 5% off!
  • Kobra Kawaii.  Use coupon code NAKAMA to receive 10% off any order of at least $25 in gaming and anime apparel.

We are always looking for more sponsors, friends, groups, and chances to network.  Feel free to reach out to us on whatever your chosen social medium may be!

Advertisements

4 Comments on “Knowledge Vault: Hand of Justice (and the giveaway continues!)

  1. Pingback: Knowledge Vault: Spinal Villain (and the EDH starter kit giveaway continues!) – Ready To Role

  2. Hi. I am puzzled by the last sentence in your article: ‘Don’t forget that, despite summoning sickness, you can still tap the tokens to activate the Hand!’ Why would you say so. The ‘T’ symbol is the old symbol for tapping to activate the ability: therefore you need to ‘tap the Hand to activate its ability. So you can’t do it on the first turn as by the rules (even in 93/94!). But let me know if I’m wrong! Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mathieu! That’s a great question. Correct me if I’m wrong, but Summoning Sickness only matters if it’s THAT CREATURE’S activated ability. Because the ability is Hand of Justice’s, not the token’s, the other three creatures’ Summoning Sickness is not checked as a cost to activate the ability.

      Source: “302.6. A creature’s activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost can’t be activated unless the creature has been under its controller’s control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. A creature can’t attack unless it has been under its controller’s control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. This rule is informally called the “summoning sickness” rule.” The other three creatures are neither attacking nor activated an ability in “its” activation cost. See also Catapult Master “Since the ability does not have the Tap symbol, you can use the ability before this creature begins a turn under your control.” As a contemporary example, in current Standard play, you can “Convoke” (tap) a creature that just came into play so as to pay for anotther creature’s mana cost.

      Like

  3. Pingback: [93/94 Brawl]: Rasputin Dreamweaver Combo(s) (and a new giveaway!) – Ready To Role

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: